The Year of Ascension

img_5245
as·cend

/əˈsend/

verb
1. go up or climb
2. to rise through the air


Language is a marvelous thing. We can fill a few letters with the breadth of the world and convey such awe-inspiring meaning with a single word.

This year, my word is ascend, to go beyond the limits of habit and expectation, to rise from nothing but my passion and the desire to create a life I can fully and unequivocally love and be proud to call my own.

It all comes down to living each day with value and purpose.

Working through a life audit in October, I realized where I should focus my attentions if I wanted to achieve all the things I have always wanted to do, but never set aside time for. So this year, my writing will take precedence.

  • Finishing the first draft of my novel this month.
  • Launching a writing patreon this month.
  • Revising for a second draft in March.
  • Revising for a third draft in May.
  • Submitting more work to literary magazines.
  • Looking into publication options in July.
  • Continuing to blog four times a month.

Then why don’t I simply refer to this year as the Year of Writing? Well, because it is so much more than that. While writing is my passion, I know I need to continue growing creatively and branching out of my comfort zone. In addition to the goals above, I will also be striving to achieve the following:

  • Walk 5-7 miles every other day with a backpack.
  • Improve my traditional art skills, and move into digital art.
  • Improve my French language skills to the point where I am comfortable communicating both through writing and speaking.
  • Acquire full-time employment.
  • Pay off 1/4 of remaining student loans.
  • Refill my travel fund and savings account.
  • Read a minimum of 12 books, 6 fiction and 6 non-fiction

Essentially, I am aiming to become far more than what I have been. I am coming to understand that the things I have wanted to accomplish over the years are fully within my grasp. All I have to do is put in the time and the effort, because good intentions will never be enough. I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of putting off what I’m most passionate about.

So I guess the question is, what word will you choose?


The Year of ____ idea also comes from Chris Guillebeau. Read more about it in the Happiness of Pursuit.
