NaNoWriMo 2K16 Update: Week 1

The first week of NaNoWriMo 2K16 is over, and I will admit I have given a less than stellar performance during that time. I mentioned that I was not starting a new novel this month, but rather planning to finish and revise the one I’d worked on last year. So while I’ve written about 5,000+ new words this month, the large spike in stats  on day 4 is due to copying over a chapter from last year. I do not see the need to rewrite that chapter from scratch at the moment, and since it’s going to make it into the story anyway, might as well.

It does feel a bit like cheating to me, but at the same time, they are all my words and they are all part of the story. I have to remember that 50,000 isn’t the goal I’m aiming for this year. I’m aiming to actually FINISH the book. That means new scenes need to be written just as much as it means old scenes need to be kept.

Power on fellow writers, with whatever goal you’re working toward.

nano1

