Seollal 2014: Year of the Horse

Owl class dressed up for Lunar New Year.

Owl class dressed up for Lunar New Year.

As it is officially the new year in Asia, I would like to wish everyone a happy and prosperous one. I’m not one for making resolutions, especially the kind that involve promising to go to a gym or eat better. Why wait for a new year to do any of that? I mean, I don’t ever plan on going to a gym, but I have been making an effort to eat better – when I can afford to.

There are some big things stirring around for this year. I knew 2013 would be an epic year of personal growth, but this year, this year I feel like it’s going to be a surprise, and depend a great deal on which path I decide to take. I can feel my time in Korea drawing to a close, having taught me what I needed to know about myself during the first six months of my return. I have become more self-assured and aware over the last year, and I would not wish to change what has helped me become the person I am at this very moment. But I also believe it is time to move on, away from this “comfort zone” that I have created as an expat. This year, it is time to move a little bit closer to home, to the people I love and have missed. That will be a whole new kind of adventure.

So what’s in store for 2014? More painting. More writing. More letters. More reading. A trip to Cambodia to finally see Angkor Wat. Seeing my families. Reuniting with friends. Finding a job stateside. Buying my first bed. Possibly buying my first car? Perhaps another tattoo. Would really like a kitty/puppy/furry animal to coo at, cuddle with, and keep me warm. I have no idea what’s going to be on my “crazy things” list for this year, so if you have any ideas, let me hear them!

