Let Me Explore The World

IMG_1162

April has been a month of tremendous personal growth of the mental and emotional variety. I’ve been struggling to re-assess my self, my place in the world around me, and what I want out of life. I spent a great deal of time contemplating the connectivity of the Universe and figuring out what makes me happy and self-satisified.

I want a voluptuous and adventurous life. I want to constantly learn about the world and it’s people, to challenge myself, to overcome boundaries many people don’t even know they’ve thought into existence. I want to be aware of as many aspects of my self as I can, and utilize them to experience this life as completely and ecstatically as possible.

Preparing to zip-line through the Puerto Rican rainforest.

Preparing to zip-line through the Puerto Rican rainforest.

So I did two crazy things this month. First, I zip-lined in Puerto Rico, and loved the fact that I would have happily done it all day. Compared to my bungee jumping experience, zip-lining through jungle canopies was a walk in the park. I explored Old Town San Juan on my own afterward, and realized that those were the kind of days I wanted to have. I don’t want to watch life, I want to participate in it. I want to enliven my senses and explore what bits and pieces of the world I can.

Second, I deactivated my Facebook account for the month. When I think about it now, it was a long time coming. It didn’t make me happy, rather the opposite, so why bother? The people who want to catch up know how to get in touch with me. I do like the photo album feature, so I will continue to use  it, but for everything else, there’s no reason for me to live vicariously through a screen. I prefer writing handwritten letters to writing on walls, so I’ll be sticking with that.

Even if I don’t know exactly what’s in store for me this year, I’m positive it will be full of amazing things. I have signed a teaching contract to begin this summer, and I am glad to have realized just how much I love teaching ESL kids. I never thought I would be any good at it, have the patience for it, or even enjoy it, but I absolutely love it. Seeing students’ faces light up when they’ve made a connection to the material, hearing them excitedly share in English an experience they had, and bringing a multi-dimensional learning experience to their lives is just astoundingly priceless.

Life is a hands-on experience. It’s meant to be messy, gritty, challenging, and creative. Take the gloves off and let the dirt get under your fingernails. Make what you will out of it. Dig in.

