The Crazy in October: Applying to MFA Programs

Being mischievously productive this month.

So what have I been finagling over this month? Well, remember how I mentioned that the oncoming months wouldn’t be nearly as crazy in terms of adrenaline rushes or outdoor adventures? This month was all about writing, revising, editing, and applying to ten MFA programs in the US.

Right, right, I’ve mentioned it a couple of times. The catch is, I’m done with the applications and I no longer have to worry about what I could or couldn’t do to change them. I pumped out a new story I’m happy with and revised an old one. Now my work just has to speak for itself and impress a few people.

I’m fortunate to have some really awesome professors writing my recommendations. I’m also extremely glad to have one of my best friends as an experienced editor and beta-reader. Seriously Ines, you are amazing and I owe you a drink or two. (Or maybe better pancakes the next time I drop by.)

Now I just have to sit and wait and read and write until sometime in late March or early April. It’s strange to think I won’t hear anything back from programs until I’m back in the US and my time in Korea is officially at an end. It’s weirdly exciting.

As for the programs I’m applying to, the majority of them are on the East Coast. I’ve actually always wanted to experience living there and watching the change in four seasons as opposed to the two you get in Texas. Okay, I’ll be honest and say I’ve been curious to live pretty much anywhere that can’t be characterized as “desert,” and has lots of trees. If that fits the bill, GREAT.

And what you’ve been really curious about is where I’ve applied, right? Here you go:

  1. Cornell
  2. Brown
  3. University of Michigan
  4. Johns Hopkins
  5. Rutgers-Camden
  6. Notre Dame
  7. University of Virginia
  8. Emerson
  9. University of Iowa
  10. University of Maryland

On my crazy agenda for next month? NaNoWriMo.

