1 Year Travel Reflection

I never clearly understood where I could go or what I could do at this point last year. I couldn’t say my life in San Antonio was adventurous, but I had several good friends there, as well as wonderful memories during my time at Trinity. Looking back, I see a version of myself deciding to take an off-handed leap into the unknown. I can now voice the fear I would never admit to then. What was I thinking?

Honestly, I have no idea what I was thinking other than the fact that things needed to change. On some level, I knew I had to change as well. I still had a great deal of growing up to do, and I went about it in a way that wasn’t what people might consider to be very adult-like. I left everything and everyone behind and hopped on a plane to a foreign country.

I’m sure there are some people out there who think I ran away, though I couldn’t tell you what they think I ran away from. I’m sure there are people who think all I’ve done over the last year has been go out, party with my friends, and not live up to being a responsible adult. There are others still who think I have nothing to complain about as I am living in a different country and experiencing other cultures. I know those people are out there, but I also know I don’t care about what they think I have done or am doing.

Who I am now has seen drastic changes from the person I was when I first left Texas, when I first arrived in Korea, and when I reached six months on my contract. Every month or so, I seem to grow and change and shift into a person I’m proud of. I pay all my bills on time. I budget and save money. I work overtime. I pay my student loans regularly. I registered to vote. If that’s what defines a responsible adult, I’d say I fit the bill, and I am not miserable doing so. I feel a sense of accomplishment having my own income and the freedom to do with it what I please. I utilize practically all of my educational background in my job, and while I realize it is far from perfect, I am happy.

I forced a change in my life, and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I ventured elsewhere, I made my imaginings possible, and it has proven to be one of the most memorable years I have had. I have accomplished so much more than I ever thought I would within a year’s time.

If you desire change, go out and make it.

