Middle of March

So it’s that time of the week when I sit down to tell you how it seems like forever since I last posted. How does time seem to change and fly like that in just seven or so days? Honestly, I couldn’t tell you.

I’d like to think I’m rounding out of the three month slump about now, but I couldn’t be sure. I’d like to think that by this time next month, I’ll be out of it and enjoying my classes again.

All in all, I’d say I had a pretty good week. Wednesday was “White Day”, which is the Korean equivalent of Valentine’s Day. All the teachers were gifted with some kind of sweet. We also took our IP kids on their monthly field trip that day. We headed out of Suji for a trip to Canny Village, which is a museum aimed at teaching kids about recycling. Considering the last “field trip” we had consisted of staying at SLP, this was refreshing.

Thursday was my birthday. 25 years old. I couldn’t have imagined where I would be five years ago. Sure, I can’t really imagine where I’ll be five years from now. While there weren’t slumber parties or pizza parties or cupcakes, I did have a good time. I found “breakfast” waiting for me at my desk in the form of a chocolate donut and chocolate muffin from Jess and Meagan. Obviously my chocolate addiction has become a little too well known. My morning went on with little gifts from the kids, and my second IP class bombarded me with handmade cards for my birthday.

With Amy before afternoon classes. I miss having her and the rest of SR Alligator.

Another IP class of students I know passed me over another round of birthday wishes. Lunchtime came and we went out for our usual kimbap, and of course, the cheesy donkas was delicious. One hot cinnamon chocolate with whipped cream later, there was mail on my desk, a birthday card from my parents. Before the afternoon classes began, I was practically torn apart by current and former students wanting to spend a few extra minutes with me. I put on a crown of “flower petals” and headed off to teach. Once the next round of classes ended, it was ice cream birthday cake time!

Naturally, once we were done with work, we headed out for some drinks and dinner to celebrate. I’ll let the video speak for itself.

 

