My First Week in Korea! *cough cough*

Tomorrow marks the completion of my first week in Korea. I bet you’re waiting to hear all about my adventures in Seoul touring museums or going to temples and what not. Think again. So far, I’ve been hit with sick for five of my seven days here. That’s a pretty exciting way to spend the holiday season: searching for tissues in corner markets, finding out the over-the-counter meds I brought with me are expired and useless, steaming my face with bowl after bowl of hot water, drinking as much hot tea as I can stand, hitting up other foreign teachers for whatever meds they can spare, losing my voice and barely sleeping for three days.

The only upside I see to this is that it’s during a holiday break from school. I would be an absolute wreck if this happened during classes. I’m having lunch today with Miran and Stephanie, the head teacher and director of SLP, to go over the course books I’ll be using come January. I’m going to come in the office barely able to speak and hopefully they’re able to take me to a pharmacy and describe what it is I need to the clerk. OH MAN. There is nothing I want to do more than just sleep without having to cough, sneeze or blow my nose every two minutes.

I do have the key to my new apartment, though I haven’t moved in yet because I’ve been sick. It’s right up the stairs and I have to purchase a handful of things like dishes, something to make my bed more comfortable (I swear, they’re like rocks over here), and groceries.

I did manage to go out with Jess last night for an early dinner of delicious duck. I feel totally terrible that I can’t go out and venture around because I am literally under the weather with the addition of the temperature. It’s going to be 40 degrees tomorrow, so there’s that to look forward to!

Also, for those of you with Skype, I’ve made out a rough calling schedule for the weekdays:
8:00-9:00 AM Korean Time = 5:00 PM CST, 7:00 PM EST, 11:00 PM UK
4:30 PM = 7:30 AM UK

