It’s Not All About The Excitement

Lately, I have been on a roll with everything that moving entails. I have made several phone calls today to take care of miscellaneous accounts, and tomorrow I will be getting my oil changed for the impending road trip. Because of all this preparation, I haven’t really had the time to sit down and think about the changes that are going to be happening in a matter of days. It’s important for me to realize that this journey, this adventure, is not just about the excitement of possibilities. I have been saying goodbye to friends, and will continue to do so, and it has only just started to hit me that this is a scary thing I’m doing. It’s life-changing, exciting, and doable, but definitely scary.

I think being able to acknowledge that is a really big step for me. I mean, if you think about it, this is the first time I’m venturing out into the “real world” and getting a “real” job. That’s huge, even more so because it’s in a foreign country. So saying goodbye to all the people who’ve been supporting me is going to be a trip in itself.

